About the Yukon

The Yukon is one of Canada’s three northern territories. With a land area larger than the state of Texas or the country of Spain, the Yukon boasts vast, wide-open territory and is home to over 42,000 residents. However, more than 300,000 people visit the Yukon annually as it is a world-renowned visitor destination.

The capital city of Whitehorse is home to over 31,500 and offers a vibrant place to work, live and play. It is known as “the wilderness city” and is located on the banks of the iconic Yukon River, which was a major transportation route during the legendary Klondike Gold Rush that put the Yukon Territory on the world stage.

Today, the Yukon is home to mining of gold, silver, lead, zinc, copper, tungsten and other metals. It is a well-established tourism destination and is home to the largest city, Whitehorse, in Canada’s north. With a devolution of powers from the federal government, the Yukon Territory operates much like a Canadian province. Like the province of Alberta it has no sales taxes other than the federal GST. The territory enjoys direct daily scheduled airline service from Vancouver. Air North, Yukon’s Airline, also provides service to Edmonton, Calgary, Kelowna, and Ottawa, as well as scheduled service to Dawson City, Old Crow and Inuvik.

The main economic drivers are government spending and northern infrastructure development, mining exploration and development, and tourism. Yukon also has a wealth of hydrocarbon assets.

Visitors to the Yukon will enjoy quality accommodations, a wide range of services and retail, restaurants and large stores such as Real Canadian Superstore, Walmart and Canadian Tire.

Learn more about the Yukon at the following sites:

Government of Yukon
Tourism Yukon
Yukon Bureau of Statistics
City of Whitehorse
Klondike Visitors Association